International Ice Hockey Federation

Derby opens Women’s Worlds

Derby opens Women’s Worlds

Host Sweden to start vs. qualifier in Malmo

Published 10.09.2014 15:41 GMT+2 | Author Martin Merk
Derby opens Women’s Worlds
Over a year after the gold medal game in Sochi 2014, defending world champion USA will face Olympic champion Canada on Day 1 of the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship. Photo: Andre Ringuette / HHOF-IIHF Images
The 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship in Malmo, Sweden, will open with a classic match-up between Team USA and Canada on 28 March 2015.

The defending world champion and the reigning Olympic champion will play the first game of Group A at Malmo Isstadion to continue their classic and unpredictable North American rivalry. Finland will play Russia in the other game of the top group.

Earlier on that day host Sweden will open the tournament at Malmo Isstadion in Group B play against the qualifier, which will be determined in November in a series between Japan – the last-ranked team at the Olympics and Division I winner in 2013 – and the Czech Republic, the Division I winner in 2014 that was relegated at the last stand-alone Women’s World Championship in 2013.

In the other Group B game at Rosengards Ishall in Malmo, recent Olympic bronze medallist Switzerland will face Germany in a neighbouring clash.

Like two years ago and this year at the Olympics in Sochi, the Women’s World Championship will start in two tiered groups. The top two teams of Group A will earn a bye to the semi-finals while the teams ranked third and fourth in Group A will play the quarter-finals against the top two teams from Group B. The two last ranked teams in Group B will play a best-of-three relegation round.

Click here to see the full schedule.

Tickets will be available as of 17th September. Click here for more information.


Back to Overview