International Ice Hockey Federation

Canada names candidates

Canada names candidates

Women’s national team prepares, Bonhomme retires

Published 19.09.2014 14:32 GMT+2 | Author Martin Merk
Canada names candidates
After the Olympic joy in Sochi back to work in Calgary: Marie-Philip Poulin celebrates after the gold medal game at the Olympics. Photo: Jeff Vinnick / HHOF-IIHF Images
Hockey Canada named 74 candidates for the women’s national team including 58 players who will attend the fall festival in Calgary, 22-28 September.

The roster includes six goaltenders, 16 defencemen and 36 forwards, who will be split up into black, red and white teams for practices and intrasquad games.

It will be the first camp under new head coach Doug Derraugh and one of several camps leading up to the 2015 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championship in Malmo, Sweden, next April.

The roster includes ten players from the team that won the Olympic women’s ice hockey tournament in Sochi 2014 and additional five players who were centralized with the team but didn’t make the final roster for the Olympics.

Not with the team anymore is Tessa Bonhomme, who announced her retirement from international hockey. The 29-year-old represented Canada in 107 games and won gold in the 2010 Olympics and in the 2007 and 2012 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s World Championships. She was one of the most prominent players who didn’t make the Sochi roster.

Candidates for Canada’s women’s national team

Ann-Renee Desbiens, University of Wisconsin (WCHA)
Erica Howe, Clarkson University (ECAC)
Genevieve Lacasse, Boston (CWHL)
Jaimie Leonoff, Yale University (ECAC)
Emerance Maschmeyer, Harvard University (ECAC)
Kimberly Newell, Princeton University (ECAC)
Charline Labonte*, Montreal (CWHL)
Shannon Szabados*, Columbus (SPHL)

Erin Ambrose, Clarkson University (ECAC)
Courtney Birchard, Brampton (CWHL)
Mellissa Channell, University of Wisconsin (WCHA)
Hayleigh Cudmore, Calgary (CWHL)
Shannon Doyle, Boston University (HE)
Renata Fast, Clarkson University (ECAC)
Laura Fortino, Brampton (CWHL)
Kaleigh Fratkin, Boston (CWHL)
Micah Hart, Okanagan Hockey Academy (JWHL)
Halli Krzyzaniak, University of North Dakota (WCHA)
Brigette Lacquette, University of Minnesota Duluth (WCHA)
Jocelyne Larocque, Brampton (CWHL)
Cassandra Poudrier, Cornell University (ECAC)
Lauriane Rougeau, Montreal (CWHL)
Tara Watchorn, Boston (CWHL)
Jessica Wong, Calgary (CWHL)
Sarah Edney*, Harvard University (ECAC)
Jessica Healey*, University of Minnesota Duluth (WCHA)
Meaghan Mikkelson*, Calgary (CWHL)
Catherine Ward*, Montreal (CWHL)
Lauren Wildfang*, Colgate University (ECAC)

Continue reading

Lindsay Agnew, Mississauga (PWHL)
Victoria Bach, Boston University (HE)
Vicki Bendus, Brampton (CWHL)
Bailey Bram, Calgary (CWHL)
Shelby Bram, Mercyhurst University (CHA)
Hanna Bunton, Cornell University (ECAC)
Jessica Campbell, Calgary (CWHL)
Kristyn Capizzano, Boston College (HE)
Emily Clark, University of Wisconsin (WCHA)
Samantha Cogan, Nepean (PWHL)
Sarah Davis, Calgary (CWHL)
Meghan Dufault, University of North Dakota (WCHA)
Emily Fulton, Cornell University (ECAC)
Karly Heffernan, Harvard University (ECAC)
Haley Irwin, Calgary (CWHL)
Rebecca Johnston, Calgary (CWHL)
Jenelle Kohanchuk, Toronto (CWHL)
Rebecca Kohler, University of North Dakota (WCHA)
Stephanie Lalancette, Limoilou (CEGEP)
Sarah Lefort, Boston University (HE)
Rebecca Leslie, Boston University (HE)
Shannon MacAulay, Clarkson University (ECAC)
Sarah Nurse, University of Wisconsin (WCHA)
Eve-Audrey Picard, St-Laurent (CEGEP)
Sarah Potomak, Pursuit of Excellence (Midget AAA)
Marie-Philip Poulin, Boston University (HE)
Jamie Lee Rattray, Brampton (CWHL)
Jillian Saulnier, Cornell University (ECAC)
Natalie Spooner, Toronto (CWHL)
Laura Stacey, Dartmouth College (ECAC)
Samantha Sutherland, Boston University (HE)
Kelly Terry, Toronto (CWHL)
Blayre Turnbull, University of Wisconsin (WCHA)
Jennifer Wakefield, Hockey Canada
Louise Warren, Boston University (HE)
Taylor Woods, Cornell University (ECAC)
Meghan Agosta-Marciano*, Montreal (CWHL)
Gillian Apps*, Brampton (CWHL)
Hannah Armstrong*, University of New Hampshire (HE)
Ashleigh Brykaliuk*, University of Minnesota Duluth (WCHA)
Mélodie Daoust*, McGill University (QSSF)
Jayna Hefford*, Brampton (CWHL)
Brianne Jenner*, Cornell University (ECAC)
Caroline Ouellette*, Montreal (CWHL)
Hayley Wickenheiser*, University of Calgary (CIS)

* indicates team members who will not attend the fall festival


Back to Overview